Section 4 – Muscle Charts
Knee/Leg Extensors (Quadriceps)

Figure 1. Knee/Leg Extensors (Quadriceps)

The knee/leg extensors are a group of four muscles located in the anterior thigh region on both sides of the body. They are commonly known as the quadriceps, or quads.  Their names are:

1) Vastus Rectus (a.k.a. Rectus Femoris)
2) Vastus Medialis
3) Vastus Lateralis
4) Vastus Intermedialis